the MIRREN LEE

The 2012 Act Three Journey of an Actress/Coach/Writer.

Day 1 Every Day a Post

Posted by themirrenlee on 01/01/2012

2012.  A Leap Year.  366 Days.  Every day a post.

Finally, every time I say, “That should go in an article/book/letter to the editor”, I’ll have a place to put the thought(s).  I’m doing it for discipline ; I need help writing the books I’ll talk about later.  I don’t do Morning Pages anymore (see Julia Cameron: “The Artist’s Way”).  I need a different approach to my creativity.

2011 was shit for me, and for a lot of people I talk to.  I have a good feeling about 2012, though.  Leap Years in themselves are a bit different and fun.  Time Magazine made its cover Person of the Year “The Protester”.  Let’s hope we see more of that.  As a Boomer who marched in the 60s for Civil Rights and in the 70s for Women’s Rights and against the Viet Nam War, it has distressed me to see the apathy in society with all the wrongs that need addressing.  Apathy is frightening because as the saying goes, all it takes for evil to flourish is for good men (and women!) to do nothing.  I would add young people, as well, because it is they who have the most energy to spare and so should be doing the most protesting!

I live in Australia, one of the easiest places in the world to be.  I call it The Asylum, because it is like being in a place where one is looked after and safe.  One of our former Prime Ministers, Paul Keating, called it the ass end of the world.  It is also that, and one can feel very cut off from the rest of the world.  Even with the Internet, we still suffer the tyranny of distance.  The main problem, though, is the mindset.  Just as the Mexicans have “Manana” as a slogan, the Aussies have “She’ll be right”, so it’s easy for apathy to flourish.  And as the joke goes, “But who cares?”  Ultimately, apathy leads to a lowering of standards and creative energy, and that’s the biggest problem of all, for me personally.

I’m just sayin’ …

Leave a Reply

 
