the MIRREN LEE

The 2012 Act Three Journey of an Actress/Coach/Writer.

Day 8 Doing It

Posted by themirrenlee on 08/01/2012

Doing it.

The start of the second week of my commitment to blog every single day in 2012, and so far, so good.

That actually isn’t the only commitment I made to myself. (I’m kind of over the word “goal”. “Commitment” has more energy to it.)  I’m also going to make this website even better than the one I had before (which was all about my acting and voice/dialect coaching), and start several different Categories which will cover various areas I’m interested in sharing, and that I will be adding to regularly.  It all has to do with my previous blog about what defines us.  I want to redefine myself in various areas of my life, not to necessarily get rid of some of them altogether, just tweak them a little bit.  I want a better balance in what I do and how I spend my time.

Did you ever think about how you would be defined if there was a dictionary definition of you?  Maybe it would say something like: “Susan: organized, thoughtless but well meaning, mother of 2, loves to sew, animal lover, fantastic computer programmer.”  So if someone said they were a “Susan”, you’d know what they meant.  I want to tweak a few of my dictionary definitions, so there’s less dialect coach, for instance, and more actress.

The first way to start redefining myself is to redesign my website and how I’m seen, by myself as well as by others.  What you will find in the weeks to come are lots of visuals as I’m a visual person and love them.  (If you want me to remember something, don’t just tell me, draw me a picture!)  The visuals will include video as well as pictures. I’m going to have a Category called “The Grumpy Bitch”, in which I vent my political and activist views (rated X for language!), and another one called “They Walk Among Us”, because I need to have a place to put all the hilarious stories of people who could be winners of The Darwin Awards (look it up). If you’ve ever seen pictures of the WalMartians you know what I’m talking about.  My “Cassandra Says” category exists because I have always been a bit psychic (really) and so tend to share my premonitions about what I feel is going to happen with people and events. If you look up who Cassandra was, you’ll see she got in trouble for her second sight, and that happens to me a bit, too.  But it’s my website so I can predict if I want to!  I will still have a section for actors, or those interested in performing, as well as my voice coaching.  Finally, I will have a Category called “A Different Kind of Normal”, which will be the start of a book I’m writing on growing up in an environment that makes The Addams Family look suburban.  It’s a bit like “Running with Scissors” meets “The Glass Castle” (you know what I’m going to say: look them up!).  There will other treats as well, but that’s an overview for now.

Today I spent 12 hours driving with my daughter in law, Katie, and grandson, Nicky, from Sydney back to my home in Melbourne.  Katie did all the driving while I was flat out on the back seat, nursing the bug I talked about yesterday.  What a marathon effort on her part, and as it is now 11pm you can imagine how exhausted we all are.  However, as I said  yesterday about reasons versus excuses, not feeling completely up to par is not a good enough reason to miss today’s commitment – it would be an excuse.

As the saying goes, “To get the things I’ve never had, I’ve got to do the things I’ve never done.”  So if I want to get a new definition of myself, I have to do new things, and one of them is this daily blog.  The same goes for you.  If you want things to change in your life, you’ll have to be the change you want to see.  I like sayings – I put them up everywhere.  I have a key chain that says, “Make it Happen,” and a fridge magnet that says, “Life isn’t about finding yourself, life is about creating yourself.”  But, really, at the end of the day, Nike says it best: “Just do it.”

I’m just sayin’ …

Leave a Reply

 
