the MIRREN LEE

The 2012 Act Three Journey of an Actress/Coach/Writer.

Day 9 Blogs

Posted by themirrenlee on 09/01/2012

Blogs.

Today’s method for people who want to express themselves.  There are serious reporting ones, steadily replacing the print media, to ones sharing a particular hobby or interest.  In between, there are so many different types, for so many different reasons, on so many different topics, that it would take you more time than I’m sure you have to read them all.  Even perusing the selection on Word Press is overwhelming.  (That applies also to the choice of themes themselves!)  So it’s a cornucopia of words out there for anyone who wants something to read.

There certainly has never been a time in history when so much has been written by so many and viewed by so many more.  What’s interesting to me, though, is this:

People are reading less books than they do anything else.

So much of what is written isn’t worth reading!

As with so many things, the Electronic Age, with the Internet, podcasts, YouTube, millions of TV channels, DVDs, Games, Wii, etc. etc. etc. has brought us endless ways to fill up our time without really having to think very much.  We like to be distracted from our lives (and the endless negative media that tries to scare us – you have no idea how many times Baby Boomers have lived through “the end of the world is coming up”!), and be entertained as much as we can.  That is not a bad thing in itself, if done in moderation. But that’s the problem, isn’t it?  Moderation in all things – a major tenet of Buddhist teachings – seems to be in scarce supply.

Thinking just about the time involved in reading blogs, I’m curious about why people read the ones they do.  Which of course begs the question: why bother to read my blog?

Well, I didn’t start this blog for anyone else – I started it for me.  As I explained in my previous posts, it’s a lesson in commitment for me (more of a test really), and a way to start what I like to think of as the Third Act of my life.  I did a certain amount and types of things into my 30s, then a change of direction into another period of my life through my 50s, and now, at 60 (the new 40!), I am redefining myself and starting again on another path.

The blog will help me chronicle and examine it as I go along.  If you’d like to share my journey, maybe finding some insights/experiences that speak to you and your own life, that would be great.  If not, you might be interested instead in all the other things I will be having on my website, especially for those interested in the entertainment industry.

The big point I’d really like to make, however, is that you should do everything in life because you enjoy doing it, not just because you hope somebody will recognize you for your efforts and compliment you on them.  To paraphrase what Viola Spolin writes in her seminal work, “Theater Games”, the need for approval is the major cause of strangled creativity.  Create for yourself – people sense authenticity and your audience will follow.

I enjoy writing this. Maybe someone will enjoy reading it. What a lovely connection. But if I don’t enjoy it first, then I don’t think there would be any point to adding to the “noise” in the blog world. I must as well just read someone else’s instead.  So enjoy what you do, or why bother with the effort?

I’m just bloggin’ …

Leave a Reply

 
