the MIRREN LEE

The 2012 Act Three Journey of an Actress/Coach/Writer.

Day 29 My Birthday

Posted by themirrenlee on 29/01/2012

Celebrate your life!

My Birthday. 

Yes, it’s today. Along with Oprah Winfrey and Germaine Greer, two women I admire tremendously, for very different reasons. Tom Selleck, Heather Graham, Ed Burns and Adam Lambert are also blowing out candles today, along with over 700 people listed on IMDB.com – the movie data base that lists who’s having a birthday when you are.

The reason I mention it is because when I was growing up I thought that January 29th was such a boring day, not like say April 1st or February 29th. Now those are interesting birthdays. And I never met anyone who had a birthday remotely near mine. Then, strangely, once I became an adult, I started meeting or noticing people who were not only fellow Aquarians, but also shared a birthday with me. In fact, I began to think my birthday was almost too popular, because my eccentric Aquarian nature never likes to follow the pack.

So I am now 61, which is the new 41, coming out of over 5 years of feeling like 81! The biggest present I got this year is a new lease on life, a strong sense of hope things are going to be better health-wise, and the belief I’m going to get my life back as “me”. I’ve been a Type A Personality living a Type Z life, and that has really sucked.

I asked my family not to do anything this year for me, but let me spend the day alone, in peace and quiet, doing whatever struck my fancy. I just wanted a whole day of “Time Out” (see Jan. 17th Post), and that’s what I had. I read, played games on my computer (Farmville and Words with Friends are my weakness), put some things up on eBay, ate chocolate, read some more (my passion), and napped. It was wonderful. I feel happy and refreshed.

No commitments, and a break from having to “relate” to anyone, are bliss for me. I am easily exhausted by people because I get too involved with their emotions. I have a psychic streak in me, and it’s made me a tad too empathetic for my own good. I have discovered that some people are harder work than others – have you noticed that? – and some are downright toxic. Those are the ones I avoid now, rather than trying to “help” or change them. It’s not really possible.

As I look over the years that have led me to this day, I am grateful for the lessons I have learned and the experiences that have shaped me. There is a Buddhist Prayer of Gratitude I just love, and recite every day, to remind myself that bad experiences/people lead to positive changes and strength in us. I’ll post it in full another day.

I’m not writing much because not working too hard is in itself one of my presents to myself today. But I can’t go without telling you, in case you don’t know, that legally you can’t sing the “Happy Birthday Song” now. Did you know that? It’s protected by copyright, and they started cracking down on people using it, which is why you’ll see shows with birthdays in them where the song being sung is something else. I first noticed it when my grandson used to watch “Bear in the Big Blue House” (now finished), when they’d sing a strange song for birthdays and I asked why. When I found out the reason, I felt it was like the Grinch Who Stole Birthdays. I think it’s sad and ridiculous. It’s those kinds of illogical, petty rules that make my Aquarian need for change want to fight it, but, of course, I also know you have to pick your battles wisely. You don’t want to waste your energy on trivial things in case you need it for the big issues. However, I have to ask: were the song writers really losing so much money all those years we were singing Happy Birthday to each other, in person and in our media? I don’t believe it. Judge Judy’s words again: “If it doesn’t make sense, it’s not true.”

By the way, for those of you who freak out over birthdays: DON’T! It’s wonderful watching yourself go through the ageing process, as long as you do it well. By that I mean, with grace and humor, and an understanding of how important the wisdom is that you’ve accumulated, along with a wealth of experiences and insights into life itself. Age is not something to be feared or ashamed of, and if you buy into those feelings, ones that seem to permeate our society, then you’re part of the problem yourself. Be part of the solution, showing the world how fabulous a person can be at any age.

I was so chronically ill as a child with asthma that I never thought I’d even see my adult years. Then a very bad “psychic” told me in my 20s that I had a short lifeline and would probably make it only to about 56 or so. So for me, every single day of my life has been a bonus. And now that I’m starting to function again, the days feel not only like bonuses, but much wanted gifts.

Whenever your birthday is, whatever age you are, embrace them both with passion and gratitude. You’ll enjoy them so much more if you do.

I’m just celebratin’ …

Leave a Reply

 
