the MIRREN LEE

The 2012 Act Three Journey of an Actress/Coach/Writer.

Day 30 Plans

Posted by themirrenlee on 30/01/2012

Are you failing to plan, or planning to fail?

Plans.

John Lennon lyrics:

“Life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans.”

Jim Rohn writing:

“I find it fascinating that most people plan their vacations with better care than they plan their lives. Perhaps that is because escape is easier than change.”

Robert Burns poetry:

“The best laid plans of Mice and Men often go awry.”

Howard Duff saying:

“It wasn’t raining when Noah built the Ark.”

The subject of Plans is a huge one because it involves Goals (or as I prefer to call them, Commitments). If you’re serious about a Commitment that you want to achieve, then you must make Plans for it.

Some people are flexible with Plans. If things don’t go as they had hoped they would, they regroup and make other Plans. Then there are those of you who go apeshit at the mere thought of altering a Plan in the slightest! If it was made, it must be followed through, is what you live by. NO…MATTER…WHAT.

I’m in the first group. I believe flexibility is a key component of getting what you want out of life. If you are too rigid, then there is the danger of breaking – either your own sanity or the sanity of those around you.

This is where language becomes interesting. Rigid people say they can’t “break” their plans, when in actual fact if they were more flexible, then the plans wouldn’t be broken at all, they’d just be adjusted to the new circumstances or Commitments that might have come up. Sometimes when a plan has to change, it ends up being for the better. Maybe  a time frame needs to be moved around, or you get new new information (“It wasn’t raining when Noah built the Ark.”).

If you hate plans to change you probably fear change in general, and that is a huge block to getting the most out of your life (“… escape is easier than change.”).

One of my ex husbands thinks that my gypsy lifestyle is just appalling (I like constant change, and to move a lot). He told me after he bought his new house (with his new wife) almost 20 years ago that he would stay in that house forever. He would never, ever, ever leave it. However, the Universe has a rather black sense of humor, and so, being challenged thus, instead had the house leave him! It literally started to fall down around his ears, as the foundation sank, and he had to tear it down and build a new one in its place. Life happened to him while he was making other plans.

I make lists for my Plans. I like to tick them off as I accomplish them. I have to make sure that I run my lists, though, and they don’t run me. Otherwise, I overwhelm myself with the amount of tasks I put on a list for one day, and then have to consciously not beat myself up for “failing” to accomplish them all (“The best laid plans …”). I knew a girl once who was so compulsive about her list making, that if she did something that wasn’t on a list she’d write it on afterwards just so she could have the satisfaction of taking it off!

Lists are important because they help you to build a foundation for your Plans, which lead to achieving your Commitments. They can also free up memory space in your brain because then you, in the words again of Jim Rohn, “Don’t use your brain as a filing cabinet.” However, be flexible with both Lists AND Plans, and you’ll find the road to achieving your Commitments a lot easier.

Then there are the people who say, “I never make Plans. I just go along in life and see what happens.” Anthony Robbins calls this “Niagara Falls” thinking: you’re in a boat, heading for the Falls, just bumping back and forth against the banks of the river, and because you have no oars (Plans) with which to control where you’re going, you’re pretty much stuffed! (When I hear people talk like this, I always wonder if they would build a house with no architect’s plan – just start constructing it and see how it turns out?!)

I’m writing about this today because I am really getting into top gear with my lists and Plans. I have so many Commitments I want to accomplish this year – being organized is very important to me. Yet I had a frustrating time leading to what I call a “lost” day. It wasn’t really – I managed to get about half the tasks on today’s list accomplished – but it felt like it because I wanted to do so much more. I have the daily challenge at the moment of coping with a flat being renovated across the hall from me. They start at about 7:30am. I go to sleep at about 3am, so it’s the middle of the night for me. They’re in the noise stage: sawing and grinding – it’s like living in a dentist’s office. So I end up tired and headachy, with my Plans being cut down to accommodate my energy level.

That’s a good example of something coming up that is making me alter my Plans: one of which is to accomplish most of what I do from the afternoon onwards, bypassing mornings completely, which suits my health issues better. I’m now left with two choices: change my sleep routine, or change my environment. Since the routine I’m in makes me the most productive (I’m a night person), I’m going to have to change my environment. Moving into a friend’s place until the worst of the noise is done with seems the best solution.

I believe we should make Plans, but I don’t believe we should be attached to our Plans. Flexibility is as good for Plans as it is for our bodies!

I’m just plannin’ …


Leave a Reply

 
