the MIRREN LEE

The 2012 Act Three Journey of an Actress/Coach/Writer.

Day 31 Persistence

Posted by themirrenlee on 31/01/2012

Persistence scores me a bullseye for my blog so far!

Persistence.

Here it is: the end of the first month of my Commitment to blog every day this year. It was easier than I thought it would be, especially given my erratic health issues. But the schedule I’ve set myself is probably the thing that is helping my consistency and discipline the most. I wait until the end of the day and then, when all is quiet, I write the blog every night from anywhere around 10pm onwards. We all have our own bio rhythms, and I’m at my best, energy wise, from about 9pm until about 3am, while at 6am or 6pm I could go into a coma!

So now it’s all just a matter of Persistence with this blog, not to mention setting up the website the way I want, and writing my other projects.

Persistence, and how to achieve it, is a huge subject. For tonight, I’ll just share with you one of the most inspirational quotes I’ve ever been given. I got it when I was a young actress just starting out, and actors, of all people, really need to remember that things don’t happen overnight. I had it laminated and have always had it mounted where I could see it. It was written by Calvin Coolidge, a President I never considered particularly inspiring, but ironically, when you read his quotes, many are pretty spot on! I think ol’ Calvin was a bit of a hidden treasure, motivationally speaking.

NOTHING IN THE WORLD CAN TAKE THE PLACE OF PERSISTENCE.

TALENT WILL NOT:     Nothing is more common than unsuccessful men with talent.

GENIUS WILL NOT:     Unrewarded genius is almost a proverb.

EDUCATION WILL NOT:    The world is full of educated derelicts.

PERSISTENCE and DETERMINATION alone are omnipotent.

The slogan PRESS ON has solved, and always will solve, the problems of the human race.

I hope you find that as useful as I have. The Talent part is what I always argue with actors about. There are tons of talented people we’ll never hear about because they give up before “making it”.

Evidently, sharks, in order to survive, never stop swimming. So obviously, you have to be more like the shark: never stop doing whatever it is you have to do, in order to get what you want. There are no shortcuts; just keeping on keeping on.

I’m just persistin’ …

Leave a Reply

 
