the MIRREN LEE

The 2012 Act Three Journey of an Actress/Coach/Writer.

Day 47 Fogs & Republicans

Posted by themirrenlee on 16/02/2012

Fogs and Republicans.

I’m not a fan of either.

Fibro Fog, Menopause Fog, Republican Fog.

As I was making my coffee this morning, I tried to eat the lid of the milk bottle. Luckily, I realized in time that the cracker was in my other hand and saved a tooth from getting broken.

I couldn’t find my glasses anywhere. Took me a minute to notice I was wearing them.

As I searched for my coffee, I found I’d put it in the fridge with the milk.

No, not Alzheimer’s – Fibro Fog. It’s a fun symptom that, when combined with the fatigue, makes the sufferer take note not to “operate heavy machinery” while under its influence.

It’s especially amusing when combined with the Menopause Fog that some women are unlucky enough to get hit with. I count myself among that group.

Take into account my natural ability to be a bit “fey”, and you can understand why I often look for my cell phone while I’m speaking on it!

I don’t do mornings well. Every day I wake up feeling like I’ve just come out of a hundred year coma. Call me Rumpelstiltskin. It takes me at least an hour to form full sentences. Between the pain and the fog, I had to get a daily pill box to help me take my medications. Even then, I’ll often look at an empty spot and have no recollection whatsoever of having taken whatever’s missing.

I’ve learned to adapt my life to what my body dictates. I go to bed in the middle of the night and get up in the middle of the morning. I make afternoon appointments. I create at night – writing, planning, working at whatever is on my lists that I can do when it’s dark. Like a vampire – quite trendy really.

I’m getting ready to go back to doing private coaching and open classes. They’ll be in the afternoons and evenings, of course. I find the time difference between Australia and the U.S. great cuz I can Skype coach in the middle of the night here.

So that’s what my fog is all about. It’s worse on days when I’m having a fatigue flare. That’s when I try not to handle sharp objects.

It makes me realize how horrible it must be to have a condition like Alzheimer’s, where the fog just progresses until the memory starts to go, and a mist of blankness smothers the sufferer. As the saying goes, there’s always someone worse off …

What I have trouble understanding is those who intentionally put themselves in a foggy state, through drugs or alcohol. No matter how good the “high” might feel, there’s still an element of fuzziness attached to using and I can’t stand living my life without clarity. I know all the arguments about addictions being a disease, and I still need to write about my feelings on that standpoint, but for now I’ll just say the foggy feeling alone would be enough to put me off the “drug/alcohol haze”.

And then there are the people who are foggy just because they are so stupid. Actually, that’s not fair to stupid people – they can’t help being stupid.

I’m talking about those who are so fucking ignorant. Invincibly ignorant people. Like Republicans. They must choose their words, their viewpoints, their hypocrisy and their lies in a fog – how else to explain why they are so irrational and inconsistent? They seem to forget today what they said yesterday, and when asked to clarify, give foggy answers. Following the Republican primaries at the moment is like being at the Mad Hatter’s Tea Party in San Francisco. I keep expecting someone to offer me half a cup of tea.

I read Huffington Post as part of my waking up routine, to help clear away the fog. Today I read that Tricky Ricky Santorum (please Google his last name) and DumbWit Romney are actually looking like the final contenders for the position of Presidential candidate of the United States. Really?! We’ve reached the extent of the Elephant’s candidates?! Really?!

Oh god, please make it so. Then we can all relax about Obama getting another 4 years. I don’t care how many conservatives, right wingers, tea party nutters, birther bozos or religious fanatics there are who might support them; I don’t think it’s possible for either of those 2 idiots to avoid falling into their arrogant, smug, un self aware fogs long enough to not stick their feet into their respective mouths repeatedly. I believe that between them they’ll be spouting more than a few Palinisms before they’re through. Enough to concern even their most ardent supporters. The Tea Party may be offering half cups of the stuff, but I see full fogs in the future of both candidates. Already they’re being reminded of things they said years ago, that they “forget” now.

What got me really worked up this morning, and cleared away the last of the fog, was the continual coverage on reproductive issues – birth control, abortion rights, now declaring a fetus “personhood” so that even more control can be gained over a woman’s body. To quote Cher’s eloquence when Junior Bush got elected the second time: “Has the whole fucking country got Alzheimer’s?” We’ve fought these battles before. And before. And before. And won.

How many times do we have to fight to protect reproductive rights?

It’s just fucking insane. There are so many far more important issues that need addressing, issues that go to the heart of people’s survival and happiness, issues like, oh I don’t know, maybe jobs and healthcare.

And it’s always the Republicans. Why in hell do they want naming rights to my womb? STAY OUT. There’s no womb there for anyone but me. (Sorry.)

So as you can see, I’m not foggy when it comes to my opinions.

I just wish they weren’t all so foggy when it comes to theirs.

I’m just sayin’ …

2 Responses to “Day 47 Fogs & Republicans”

  1. holliemck said

    When I argue this point I say, “I don’t tell you what to do with your manhood, so don’t tell me what to do with my lady parts” or… “I don’t have rights to your gun, only you do. You don’t have rights to my uterus, I do. Fair?”

    • Thanks for weighing in. You’re so right. It’s why Nancy Pelosi got so concerned with the debate on reproductive issues – it was all men discussing it! I just can’t imagine men “allowing” us to discuss their “men’s bits”, and what they should do with them. Well, I’ll say what they can do with them!

Leave a Reply

 
