the MIRREN LEE

The 2012 Act Three Journey of an Actress/Coach/Writer.

Day 59 One Spoon Left

Posted by themirrenlee on 28/02/2012

One spoon left.

That’s all I have, and I still have to pack for my trip to Sydney tomorrow. Actually, after all the running around I had to do today to finish up last minute errands, I think it may only be half a spoon! (For those confused by this analogy, see my post, “The Spoon Theory”.)

It’s amazing how much organizing there is to be done when going away for just three weeks. I have only street parking for my car, so I’ve arranged for my daughter to take it to her place where it will be safer. My friend around the corner is picking up my mail, and so on. Our lives are made up of so many details to take care of, it’s no wonder those of us with chronic conditions like Fibromyalgia get so sore and tired trying to keep up!

I know that healthy people will say that life is complicated and busy for them, too, but I read an interesting thing once on a site about Fibromyalgia. It was a suggestion that people without it should try to replicate the pain we suffer with in our muscles by clipping clothes pegs all over their bodies. Someone even suggested that there should be a clothes peg symbol for us! It’s an interesting idea, isn’t it?

Trying to explain chronic muscle pain is quite difficult. I shortcut it by describing it as “like arthritis of the muscles”. That seems to help make a connection to something that people are already familiar with.

Lugging around a body filled with pain, and the fatigue that follows it, makes doing anything just that bit more difficult, as fellow sufferers of any chronic condition know. With the “one day on, one day off” routine I try to follow in order to cope with the build up of symptoms, I am really looking forward to the day AFTER I arrive, which I will probably spend in bed, building up my spoons!

I do want to give one good traveling hint I forgot to mention in yesterday’s post. This last Christmas, my gift hints were heard and I finally became the owner of one of the new type of suitcases that have 4 wheels. This means they can rotate 360 degrees, and go forward, backwards, or turn on a dime. They are also usually hard cases (back to the Samsonite days!), but so much lighter than anything else I’ve used. It makes the nightmare of hauling luggage incredibly easier because I can PUSH it as well as pull it. I find pulling much harder on my shoulders, so usually I push the suitcase instead. Wonderful. I highly recommend trying one if you haven’t already.

So tomorrow night’s post will be from Sydney. When faced with doing something that I know will be unpleasant/painful, I visualize seeing myself on the other side of it. Instead of thinking about how it’s going to feel getting to the airport, etc., I’m going to focus on seeing David, Katie and Nicky tomorrow night, and replenishing my spoons on Thursday.

I’m just spoon poor …

2 Responses to “Day 59 One Spoon Left”

  1. Spoons have been in short supply here as well this past week or so. Have fun on your trip and RELAX. You deserve the break 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
