the MIRREN LEE

The 2012 Act Three Journey of an Actress/Coach/Writer.

Day 77 Pea Soup

Posted by themirrenlee on 17/03/2012

Pea Soup.

As a child of a dysfunctional family, I have always resented the expression, “Blood is thicker than water”.

One day I heard the best counter argument to this assertion: “So is pea soup – what’s your point?”

Today I caught up with some lovely friends in Sydney over a taste-bud-dazzling array of cupcakes from the local cupcakerie. My sweet tooth was in ecstasy!

We talked, we laughed, we were nice to each other – there was no hidden subtext or feuds lurking beneath the surface. It was as far removed from my life long family experiences as I could ever have wished for.

I believe we should be allowed at a certain age to choose whether or not we still want to be members of the families we grew up in – in effect, I’m advocating permission to “divorce” a toxic family, whether as a whole or individual members.

Then we can choose the people we want to be closest to us, creating our new “family”. After all, what is the definition of a family nowadays? All sorts of mixes. Even if we put aside gay or adoptive ones, what about inlaws and step families? All it takes to be a family is love, respect and loyalty, along with the justifiably unwavering faith that we’ll always be there for each other.

That doesn’t take blood. Sharing a big pot of pea soup together can be just as binding. And it’s probably better for you!

I’m just sayin’ …

3 Responses to “Day 77 Pea Soup”

  1. I “divorced” my father many years ago as well as his entire side of the family. When I became an adult, it felt like a great weight had lifted off me because, finally, I was rid of THEM. Gotta love adulthood!

Leave a Reply

 
