the MIRREN LEE

The 2012 Act Three Journey of an Actress/Coach/Writer.

Day 93 Nature Will Fill a Vacuum

Posted by themirrenlee on 02/04/2012

Nature will fill a vacuum.

Actually, the woman who taught me this principle said, “Nature abhors a vacuum,” but abhor is such an unused word it looked strange when I wrote it, and besides, I prefer the more active nature of this statement instead.

I met this woman at a very important time in my life; I was going through a lot of changes, what with leaving my husband (our daughter was 4 at the time), starting a huge theater/training company and actor’s agency with no financial foundation (It was the Judy Garland/Mickey Rooney style of business: “Let’s put on a show, kids!”), and going through intensive counselling to find out what I wanted, and to stop triangulating through other people’s needs first.

I was telling her that I was looking for a place to live after leaving my husband. She said to be very precise in what I was asking the Universe for in my searching because wherever there’s a vaccum (i.e., our needs) it WILL be filled. If we don’t visualize precisely what we want, the Universe will fill it for us according to what IT wants.

It reminded me of Anthony Robbins mentioning in one of his books that when a guy at one of his seminars said he wanted more money, Robbins gave him a quarter and said, “Next time, be more specific.” I love that!

If you can't picture your life as you want it, how can the Universe know what to give you?

I found that this woman was absolutely, one hundred percent right. Every single time I’ve wanted to move, for instance, I’ve actually drawn on paper what I was looking for, from preferred areas to live in to floor diagrams of my idea living quarters. People say it’s amazing how I always find great places to live in, but I know it’s no accident.

I found the opposite to be also true. When I don’t know exactly what I’m asking for, maybe I just, oh I don’t know, say something like, “I want a well paid freelance gig,” then I find myself falling into jobs that are well paid, all right, but turn out to be assignments from Hell. I’m talking here about my freelance dialect coaching for actors on TV shows, commercials, and films, mostly American productions. On one of them, with a very high profile American film director, that even flew me to Queensland for a week, I asked to be taken off the job because the director was such a rude sleaze bag! No amount of money has ever enticed me to work at something that makes me miserable.

The REALLY amazing thing that happened with the job is that as I was being driven to the hotel to get ready for my flight back to Sydney, I asked the Universe for a good gig, just for a couple of days as I was pretty tired, to wash that one out of my head. The phone rang with an offer for a 2 day commercial in Sydney with a nice director I’d worked with before! Coincidence? Maybe. Or maybe this Vacuum Principle has happened too many times to me for me to ignore it.

The other part of the Principle is that you have to CREATE A VACUUM before you can fill it. If you don’t leave your unhappy relationship, don’t be surprised if you can’t find another one. And if you don’t visualize clearly who you’d like to meet to replace it, prepare to repeat your unhappy pattern.

It’s exactly the same idea as clearing out “old energy” when you clean out your house, getting rid of all the junk that’s just been hanging around making you feel claustrophobic. Only then can you start to see what you’d like to refurnish/redecorate your house with. (Have you ever noticed that “hoarders” are also stuck in their lives?)

I learned from “The Artist’s Way”, by Julia Cameron, that collaging your desires and goals (what I call commitments), is a good way of really seeing what you want. I am not a person who normally likes to do anything of a “crafty” nature because I’m not good with my hands, but I pushed through with the collaging and found it really effective. One actress who was in a group I led collaged her perfect day working as an actress in Hollywood. She had a husband and 2 children, and no idea how she could ever achieve her goal, but she worked hard at visualizing it, along with the steps she took to achieve it. Today she is an American citizen, with her family, living and working in Los Angeles!

(“The Artist’s Way” is a book that helps anyone ignite creativity within themselves, and works best when done in a group situation, going through the chapters on a weekly basis together. However, it CAN be done by yourself if you have no one to do it with. Look up groups on the Net – you might be surprised what you find.)

I just thought I’d share today how much I’m using The Vacuum Principle this year, as I work towards a whole new lifestyle direction which is different from anything I’ve been doing up until now. You only need to do 2 things:

  • Create a vacuum by ridding yourself of something you don’t want.
  • Visualize the vacuum filled with precisely what you want in its place.

Of course, you have to take action as well. That’s as obvious as the fact that ANY weight loss program will also include fewer calories and more exercise. However, action without knowing what you want is like building a house without an architect’s plan. You can’t just wait and see how it will turn out – you need to have an idea of what kind of house you’d like! So visualize your life that way and see what happens.

I’m just collagin’ …

Leave a Reply

 
