the MIRREN LEE

The 2012 Act Three Journey of an Actress/Coach/Writer.

Day 110 Still Moooving …

Posted by themirrenlee on 19/04/2012

Will it ever end?

I had to get a day’s extension for moving out because I just can’t do everything fast enough.

I pack a box, clean a surface or two, and that’s it, I have to lie down. Doesn’t take a genius to figure out I’m hyper stressed, which isn’t helping. No, not stressed about moving – stressed about not being ABLE to move.

The worst of all for my poor sore muscles is the carting of boxes to the car, and then delivering to the appropriate places: op shop, my daughter’s for storage, my friend’s where I’ll be staying for a few days. And, of course, endless trips to the outdoor bin. At least I don’t have to drive there!

I can see the outline of its completion, though. More cleaning left than packing now. I can handle that better – no lifting.

I had an actress on my books once when I was an agent who had spent five years in an Ashram in India. She told me she had so few possessions she could put everything she owned in her back pack and be ready to move in a few minutes! Sounds a bit extreme, maybe, but certainly a lot easier than what I’m going through now.

Do you have a lot of possessions? Would moving be a big expedition for you?

The really funny thing about my move is that this is a furnished flat! I’m not even moving “regular” furniture, or appliances – just the extras I’ve managed to accumulate in the three years I’ve been back in Melbourne.

I’m proud to say that I’ve whittled down now really well. I plan to keep it that way, too.

New Rule (as Bill Maher would say): If I buy anything new, I have to throw out something I already have.

Boxes are staring at me. Must obey.

I’m just packin’ … and packin’ … and

Leave a Reply

 
