the MIRREN LEE

The 2012 Act Three Journey of an Actress/Coach/Writer.

Day 112 Just Do It

Posted by themirrenlee on 21/04/2012

Nike had the right idea with that slogan. I live by it – along with “Make It Happen”.

I have both these sayings as keychains, fridge magnets, stickers, etc. They remind me that no matter what happens, “If it’s to be, it’s up to me.”

They also remind me that life is about CHOICES. They’re what we mean when we talk about Personal Power. You and I have the power of Choice in everything we do, say, think, feel and, most importantly, how we REACT.

I have chosen, for instance, to finish my move tomorrow instead of today. I’m so close to not being able to function with the pain and fatigue that I would probably have had to miss my friend’s birthday party tonight if I’d done any more, and I don’t want to disappoint her.

That’s not what really got me thinking about choices today, though. It was a whole bunch of blogs and news stories that seem to have come to my attention all at once. They all concern people’s loneliness, sadness, depression, feelings of emptiness.

If I were to say to these various people, “You know, you DO have choices about how you handle your life, and your feelings,” they’d probably get mad at me. I know that when my first counsellor said nobody MAKES me do anything, I choose to feel the way I do with them (after I said my husband made me upset), I sulked for three sessions! Then finally, I got it.

If I have the CHOICE, then I have the POWER! Wow. What an amazing, life-changing revelation.

We can choose to be unhappy about whoever is hurting us, or whatever problems we have – and chronic illness is certainly something that demands a lot of positive choices if we want to avoid just giving up – or we can choose to not let them affect us negatively. That’s certainly not the way to fix them anyway. Negative attracts negative, while positive energy attracts positive results.

It’s not easy. Life isn’t easy. But it’s certainly a whole lot better with better choices.

I’m struggling with this move. But I choose to do the best I can and keep remembering that it’s almost finished. I also choose to see the lesson I learned, as I said yesterday, in that I’ll never try to do it all on my own again.

I wish for everyone out there who feels sad and unhappy, and trapped, to realize that you’re not. You just need some different choices. That’s where counselling is so valuable. It helps you see a wider possible range of what you can choose to do in your life.

Now I’m just choosin’ to rest …

Leave a Reply

 
