the MIRREN LEE

The 2012 Act Three Journey of an Actress/Coach/Writer.

113 Homeless!

Posted by themirrenlee on 22/04/2012

Finally, my self imposed homelessness has begun!

I thought at one point today I wouldn’t make it, with all the cleaning and packing and hauling. I had to keep stopping every fifteen minutes to lie flat on my back and gird my loins for more pain. I missed my friend’s (Caryl) birthday party last night because my back spasmed up so badly I couldn’t walk.

Then today my right ankle went into spasm for a few hours. It’s the “Fibromyalgia Circus of Travelling Pain”.

To top it all off, as usually happens in these situations, the vacuum cleaner stopped sucking, followed by the mop head breaking off the pole!

But I persevered, and even though I can hardly walk, and know that tomorrow I will feel like a Hummer ran over me in the middle of the night, I’m proud that I was able to push through and just DO it.

I’m tucked up in bed at my friends’ place (Caryl and her husband Roman), and will be taking things slowly until I’m ready to drive to Sydney. A normal person can make the drive in about 10-11 hours, but I’ll be taking a couple of days – I usually stop at a motel about half way there. Getting up early for check out is tough, but endless driving is worse.

I feel like I’ve taken a big step in my plan for going to L.A. at the end of the year.

It’s quite nice not having my own place at the moment. Feels quite freeing. It probably seems weird to most people, who like their own “nests”, but I’ve always said if I had my druthers I’d live in a five star hotel. Maid and room service- can’t beat that!

Anyway, what a relief to have finished moving out.

Now I’m just recoverin’ …

Leave a Reply

 
