the MIRREN LEE

The 2012 Act Three Journey of an Actress/Coach/Writer.

Day 119 Rip Off Alert

Posted by themirrenlee on 28/04/2012

Still couldn’t unpack computer. That ol’ wall loomed in front of me today after I’d been run over by the Hummer. I’m so lucky to have a nice place to stay while getting my strength back. Caryl even served me breakfast in bed! And I always have their cat snuggling next to me – such bliss. He’s old, which gives him the same energy as chronic fatigue, so we’re perfectly matched.

I am a chronic price watcher and bargain hunter, and I found a big Lyrica gap I wanted to alert Aussie readers to. I decided to have it on hand for when I needed a sleep boost, and knew it cost about $50. Well, I went to a Chemist Warehouse (one of our discount chains) and was quoted $70. I said no thanks and went to another of their branches – same company – and got it for $35!

When I was in Hollywood a few years ago, I had to get antibiotics and the first chemist quoted a hundred dollars. The second one quoted $75, and I finally got them at Costco for $50. I think it’s a tad bizarre that we have to basically bargain for our medication no matter where we are, but there it is. And we’re not talking only a couple of dollars. Add that to the fact that we have to usually take more than one drug, plus the high cost of supplements (especially when they get
“popular), and people with chronic conditions become the golden geese for a lot of people.

Not fair, is it? Well, one of my favorite sayings is, “Fair’s a place where pigs go to win ribbons.” !!!!!

So my advice is to always get a couple of quotes. I found, when renovating a house many years ago, that the perfect number of quotes to get before you’d start to get repetitions was four. If you can’t manage that many (they count on us not having the energy for it), then at least get a couple. Unless, of course, you’re rich!

The cat, Ming, and I are turning in early. I’m hoping the wall’s gone when I wake up, and the Hummer left me alone during the night. I have packing to do.

I’m just bargain huntin’ …

4 Responses to “Day 119 Rip Off Alert”

  1. sweetopiagirl said

    Reblogged this on InspiredWeightloss!.

  2. baptistestscroix said

    I think you’re doing great considering all the pain and the hassle of moving you’ve been through. Look forward to more posts.

Leave a Reply

 
