the MIRREN LEE

The 2012 Act Three Journey of an Actress/Coach/Writer.

Day 120 A Change of Pace

Posted by themirrenlee on 29/04/2012

And now for something completely different …

let’s talk about my health.

NO, LET’S NOT!

I am so UTTERLY BORED with being held back by my health that I pushed myself to go see “The Avengers” with one of the friends I’m staying with. Caryl doesn’t like to go to the movies much, but her husband, Roman, does so I’m his “movie mate”. We have very similar tastes, and love dissecting the movie afterwards (so many people, including one of my ex-husbands, find this irritating), so we’re a good match.

Nothing like a fun movie to lift your spirits. (Must admit, though, that this popcorn looks a bit unappetising.)

It was a real giggle at the start, too, because we usually go on Saturday nights, but this time we went on Friday. (With me toting my hot water bottle to cope with my back pain. Oh, and I always use one of the booster seats for my legs so I don’t get a pulling sensation in my back. Just a little hint for those of you with short legs like me.) Roman must have had a “senior moment” because he booked Saturday night tickets over the phone, and because the ticket collector didn’t notice, we didn’t realize until we were in the cinema with people asking for their seats back. Six times! I was in fits of laughter, and we just kept hoping that the place wouldn’t fill up, but we were lucky and finally got settled in a couple of vacant seats. We later discovered we’re not larcenous enough, because it wasn’t until after we’d thrown our tickets away that we realized we could have given them to someone else for Saturday night! There is just basically no checking at the mall we go to.

I am a Robert Downey Jr. groupie, so that was my main reason for going, but I also prefer dick flicks over chick flicks any day. It was so great to go out and get some “input” that it was worth fighting through the pain and exhaustion from my Friday endeavors helping Zina.

Today I finally got out the computer and logged onto my WordPress site properly and answered Comments, removed spam, etc. I have a million change of address notifications to do, and I was thrilled to discover that most of them can now finally be done online. This is only recent for us. And who is the hardest to contact? Any of the government agencies, of course. Medicare, our medical system, said I had to log online between 9-5pm. WTF?! Since when does the Internet keep office hours?!

I took a Lyrica last night (sorry, back to health), and ended up sleeping for about 8 hours straight! This is so bizarre for me, especially with my “irritable bladder”. (Hint to anyone else who has this: a bladder stretch doesn’t work and is just more pain for nothing. I maintain it’s part of some people’s Fibro profile – another reactive symptom. ) I woke up completely disoriented. Did I feel better? No. Why? Because my tonsil continues to flare, so I gave in and started taking antibiotics. Oh, to have an immune system as strong as The Hulk!

At this point, I don’t think I’ll get away driving to Sydney until Thursday at the earliest. Stressing about it won’t do any good, so I might as well just be grateful that I have a lovely and inviting place to stay until I’m strong enough.

Every time I go to the movies I tell myself I must get back in the habit of going weekly because it gives me such a lift. This is the Industry I love, and the profession that I’ve been in all my life as an actress/coach/director/agent/casting person/writer/producer, etc., and yet I haven’t been pushing through hard enough to get out and see product, which spurs me to feel inspired about my life change this year. (Going back to acting and writing instead of just coaching, and maybe being able to return to Hollywood for awhile.) Sydney will be good for that because my son, David, does movie podcasts so he’s constantly going to screenings and that will encourage me to, as well. And no, I’m not a theater person anymore, which in the eyes of some people makes me a cretin. But I look upon theater the same way I do radio drama: they both have their place, but they can’t compete with the experience the movies give us.

Okay, muscles are screaming after several hours of sitting at the computer, so that’s enough for now. I’m pretty proud that my tonsil and I have pushed through for this long. Come on, antibiotics, do your stuff.

I’m just healin’ …

Leave a Reply

 
