the MIRREN LEE

The 2012 Act Three Journey of an Actress/Coach/Writer.

Day 132 Brain Scramble

Posted by themirrenlee on 11/05/2012

So exciting. I got my Mother’s Day present today from Sydney (yes, it’s Mother’s Day in Australia on Sunday), and it’s one of those fantastic black comedy memoirs that I’m trying to write. I want that balance between “I can’t believe this is fucking true,” and “I shouldn’t be laughing at something so awful,” with a touch of, “I wonder if she’s still in therapy?”, and this book ticks all the boxes.

The book is “Let’s Pretend This Never Happened”, by Jenny Lawson, and it’s laugh out loud black humor funny. I’m reading it really slowly because I don’t want it to be over. Highly recommended.

I also recommend “The Glass Castle”, by Jeannette Walls, and “Running With Scissors,” by Augusten Burroughs.

These books are highly relevant to those of us with childhoods where the “dys” lived permanently in front of the “functional”.

The rest of you, who say you had perfect childhoods, well … you can watch reruns of “The Brady Bunch” and reminisce. The rest of us will watch it as a highly unbelievable fairy tale.

So I slept like shit again, and didn’t want to get up, but I pushed myself and got Katie’s birthday present finally mailed – only a week late. As the world’s best daughter-in-law she would never mind, even though she got the book to me. I always feel like I’m closer to my traveling goal when I can get up and out.

Had decided I wouldn’t pick up the ex m-i-law on Monday from hospital (see yesterday’s post), but the hospital is doing it anyway, so no problem. I did get my dig in about how she said she couldn’t rely on me, and she backtracked like crazy because she wants me to take her groceries in the afternoon. I was good and moved my doctor’s and counsellor’s appointments back to Monday/Tuesday, and am placing myself first. I’ll get her groceries, but on MY terms.

The woman is so insane that when she heard I was helping Caryl with her headache, she said I shouldn’t be around sick people because I’m not well enough myself.

Pause for brain to reset.

So does that mean I shouldn’t be around her, either?

Or around her but not Caryl? Abandon Caryl AND have no place to stay?

It’s called Craaaaazzzzyyyy Maaaakinnng.

The only cure is a nail gun to the head.

Hers, not mine.

Now I’m going to enjoy myself with my new book. I’ve had enough of my own crazy today – I want to read about someone else’s.

I’m just resettin’ my brain …

Leave a Reply

 
