the MIRREN LEE

The 2012 Act Three Journey of an Actress/Coach/Writer.

Day 144 Been Down So Long …

Posted by themirrenlee on 23/05/2012

… it looks like up to me.

That’s actually the title of a book by Richard Farina, who was married to Joan Baez’s sister. How’s THAT for trivia?!

It’s kind of how I feel with this virus. I went out for several hours today and by the time I got home I was sorry I’d ever gotten up. Hateful Fibro kicked in with the extra muscle pain and fatigue. It was even making my asthma start to flare up. I can only imagine what tomorrow will be like – here comes the Hummer!

But the good news is I was ABLE to get out at all. I not only did necessary errands, but I also got a long overdue haircut. It was a real mess from being neglected for so long – I even hacked off a bit in the back by myself. Today’s hairdresser held up the uneven chunks, looked at me and asked, “Did you do this?”

I couldn’t hang my head in shame because she had hold of my hair, but I looked suitably chastened.

I like razor cuts – they give texture to my hair. Luckily, a person at the cheapie cut place I went to did them; most hairdressers don’t. So I got a really good cut, and this always makes me feel better on all levels.

I think I’m on the mend – I just don’t know how long the stitching will take. I’m hoping to get to Sydney by the beginning of next week. Nicky’s birthday is on June 1st, and age 13 is a milestone!

I’m just mendin’ …

2 Responses to “Day 144 Been Down So Long …”

  1. Ah, your Hummer is my bus! Whenever I have a fibro flare, I await the bus hitting me.

    My hairdresser always knows if I’ve cut my fringe; even though I trained in hairdressing myself, she knows! I love razor cuts, they always look awesome. My hair is very blunt-cut, but I have the front razored.

    • Yeah, I get the bus, too – and everything in between, from SUVs to Motorcycles. Sometimes maybe just a skateboard several times over a few spots. I’m sure you know what I’m talking about! 🙂 And you are the first person who’s ever even known what razor cutting IS. I’ll bet your hair is cute! Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

 
