the MIRREN LEE

The 2012 Act Three Journey of an Actress/Coach/Writer.

Day 169 Flying Buffalos

Posted by themirrenlee on 18/06/2012

I’m going on a cheap airline to L.A. in October.

Well, Scarlett was right. Tomorrow IS another day, and I slept during it for about 6 hours!

You notice I didn’t say I slept at NIGHT, but I finally had such a good sleep during the day, that my TMJ pain is settling down – finally – and I felt so much better that here I am on the computer! Yay. Sleep is a wonderful thing.

I found a trick to dealing with the TMJ pain. My main problem is that a nerve line must lie straight to my upper right tooth, and it has been excruciating. I was taking 2 codeine/ibuprofen tablets about 3 times in 24 hours to help it because I assumed TMJ is inflammatory, calling for ibuprofen, since it wasn’t working with just my regular paracetamol (Acetaminophen to Americans. And yes, I know, unfortunately, you can’t get codeine over the counter like Australians can.). I was also using various creams, a hot water bottle and massaging it. Now I find it will respond well if I just use acupressure on the sore points – not only does the jaw and cheek settle down, but the tooth does, too. What a relief. If you have TMJ issues, you know what I’m talking about when I say there are also nasty little headaches that keep cropping up, as well.

But then I got up in the late afternoon, and was quite the little whirlwind. I decided not to leave the house on errands because I didn’t want to spoil how good I was feeling, so I just worked on the ever lasting sorting of all my stuff.  I want to pare down to the essentials, and get really organised. Every time I started sweating and feeling sore, I remembered my “Epiphany” (see post) and told myself I’d just been working out and needed to take a break. It really, really is helping me mentally, which helps emotionally.

The whole basic tenet about Fibromyalgia is that we can’t control the physical with a cure, only minimize the symptoms with various drugs/techniques, but wecan certainly control the mental/emotional reactions we experience as a result of the unrelenting pain/fatigue. (That was a lot of forward slashes, wasn’t it?) The depression/frustration/sense of futility (They’re taking over: ///////) that we suffer have such an impact on our physical being that I know I’m committed to working on all three areas at once: mental///physical///emotional (not my fault – there’s a gremlin in the keyboard) in order to function as well as I possibly can.

I typed in “airplane” when looking for an image, and got these buffalos. Made me laugh out loud!

I keep thinking about that airplane taking off on October 27th to Los Angeles, and I plan to be on it! (Unless they’re offering flying buffalos?)

BTW, I went to say thank you to all those people who have “Liked” my posts, and because I haven’t taken the time yet to really understand how everything in WordPress works, and because I’m a little bit IT retarded, anyway, (okay, okay, not PC – “challenged”), I can’t see how to say thank you for stopping by, etc. So I just Followed everybody! I like reading what other people do, so it’s a win-win.

BTW, speaking of PC, at my daughter’s high school about 10 years ago the accepted way of speaking about “intellectually challenged” students was that they were “IM”. What the hell is that? I asked. Can you guess? It stands for “Intellectually Mild”. Now, come on, that’s just silly. Not surprisingly, it didn’t catch on.

Well, I feel really tired, in a sort of normal like way, so I’m wondering: could I possibly sleep tonight? God, wouldn’t that be wonderfully incredible? Otherwise, I’m getting to the point where I’ll just have to be a vampire and sleep all day every day. Trying to get much done in the real world, like the business hours type of world, might be a bit of a problem, though. To all my fellow insomniacs: it’s a bitch, ain’t it? And yes, I know I haven’t written the post on an overview of sleep yet. I have ADD, okay? Or is it ADHD? Or ADDHD? (Where are the forward slashes when I need them?!!)

I’m just thinkin’ about buffalos …

Leave a Reply

 
