the MIRREN LEE

The 2012 Act Three Journey of an Actress/Coach/Writer.

Day 174 Shiatsu Sharing

Posted by themirrenlee on 23/06/2012

It’s interesting what happens when trying everything you can to combat a chronic condition. Sometimes they work, sometimes they don’t, and sometimes you learn really interesting facts.

I’ve discovered, for instance, that a Shiatsu massage is like having a workout with the masseur doing all the work! The pulling and pushing left me me feeling tired, but in a good way. Until the middle of the night, when both legs flared up. I took drugs and slathered on Blackmores Pain Relief Cream (which works really well in general for my muscles), and went back to not sleeping.

When I got up today, I was pretty stiff all over, but then it slowly calmed down and I have to say I like how my muscles feel as if they’ve had a pleasant workout. Except for my hips, which are sore, but as I said yesterday, I let her push me too much – my bad, not hers.

Tomorrow is the 3 session marathon, and I will tell the Shiatsu person to be gentle. The Massage and Reflexology people are no problem, so I’m hoping to end the day in a pleasant haze.

I’m really tired and would desperately like to sleep tonight. At least tomorrow it won’t matter how I feel because I’ll just be lying down while people work on me.

I have this theory that if I were rich enough to be massaged every couple of hours, my muscles would “forget” to be sore and I’d be cured! Would love to try that theory out. Maybe I should try to raise the money on www.kickstarter.com

Wouldn’t that be a hoot?

If you haven’t had Shiatsu, I recommend it, but with the proviso that you have it done as gently as possible.

I’m just closin’ my eyes …

Leave a Reply

 
