the MIRREN LEE

The 2012 Act Three Journey of an Actress/Coach/Writer.

Day 177 Insane Insomnia

Posted by themirrenlee on 26/06/2012

After last night’s effort all about sleep, I feel the need to take a Mental Health Day since I DIDN’T SLEEP.

Feeling very tired and cranky.

ADDENDUM TO YESTERDAY:

YES I DO OR HAVE –

MEDITATED

DONE RELAXATION THERAPY

LISTENED TO SOOTHING TAPES

TRIED SLEEPING/GETTING UP AT CONSISTENT TIMES

TAKEN HERBAL/CHINESE REMEDIES

None of it works/worked. I still have insomnia. I was told when Menopause came it would get better.

They lied.

I do not agree with the common idea that somehow we are more virtuous if we get up early – especially if we didn’t sleep.

I’ve worked hard to figure out what I need, and to express this to those in my life.

Everyone knows “I don’t do mornings”. (This why I had to quit coaching in film/TV – the early starts and long days.)

Everyone knows I don’t make plans; I won’t know how I’ll be feeling.

Everyone knows I don’t like to socialize with more than two people at a time; I don’t have the stamina.

Everyone knows my routine is usually one day on, one day off – unless I’m having a Flare or feeling seriously sleep deprived. Then it could be days off.

I am a fun, happy, energetic person when I’m managing Fibro/insomnia. When I’m not, I’m a black hole of fatigue and despair. So that’s why my loved ones help me function as well as I can.

I know I’m lucky now my children are grown and I have no one to be responsible for, but I went through those years with Fibro and my sympathies go out to those still in them.

At least with Fibro doctors admit there’s really nothing that can be done about it yet. With insomnia, however, there is an underlying feeling that there’s something we could do to help ourselves make it go away.

WHAT?! What’s the magic bullet? I sure haven’t found it, and it’s not for lack of trying.

Maybe we should put a poster on the Internet:
WANTED – Cure for Insomnia
REWARD: Whatever you want!

If anyone has any magic answer I don’t know about, please share.

In the meantime …

I’m just not sleepin’ …

Leave a Reply

 
