the MIRREN LEE

The 2012 Act Three Journey of an Actress/Coach/Writer.

Day 191 Stilnox, Miriam & Hypnosis

Posted by themirrenlee on 09/07/2012

I saw Barbie’s boyfriend, Dr. Ken, today and, as usual, when I said I’m desperate for sleep (no, last nite ended up being a fizzer) and I’m ready to try Stilnox again, he said ok and wrote me the scrip.

He said take it every night for a week, and see if that rattles my sleep disordered brain back into alignment. Yeah right.

I asked, “So what happens if this doesn’t work? Am I just pretty much fucked?”

He smiled that enigmatic Ken Doll smile and said, “No, there are still some other things we can try.”

What?! What can we try that you’re holding back and teasing me with?

A general anaesthetic? Chloroform? A hammer to my head? A Madonna movie?

Then he asks if I’ve had hypnosis. Oh, in about the 18th century, while I was trying leeches for muscle pain, I replied.

Then he brought sunshine back into my tired, gloomy day. He told me Miriam’s back!!!!! Yay!!!!!

Some of you may remember that I left the first doctor at this clinic because she didn’t believe in Fibromyalgia. I then transferred to Ken because my daughter had tried him once and said he was okay.

Once when Ken was away, I got Miriam, heavily pregnant with a litter, and
I LOVED her! Smart, nice, empathetic – I wanted to move in with her and her whole litter. Unfortunately, she dropped them the following week, and then inconveniently (one might almost say incredibly uncaringly) decided to stay home and raise them for an unspecified amount of time. No thought whatsoever for me, who was ready, willing and able to adopt her as my doctor, even if it meant breaking up with Ken.

(Yeah, okay, she only had one baby girl, but I’m high on Stilnox.)

Anyway, Ken now tells me that it’s Miriam – MY Miriam – who has come back to me at the clinic, and SHE DOES HYPNOSIS! Hallelujah!

So I’m seeing her Monday for assessment and then hopefully she’ll accept me as a candidate for insomnia hypnosis. I always say, “I’ll try ANYTHING.”

(I wonder if she also does past life regression sessions? Naw, probably not.)

The chemist said the Stilnox wouldn’t take long to kick in, and she was right. I’m starting to find it hard to ficus. Oh, and also to focus.

If I ever regain consciousness, I’ll let you know how it went.

I’m just fadin’ out …

3 Responses to “Day 191 Stilnox, Miriam & Hypnosis”

  1. baptistestscroix said

    You have an amazing sense of humour and I love the way you write. I hope you feel better soon so that we can all read more and laugh more. It’s helps brighten up our vrey ordinary lives! 🙂 Bon dormir. (pardon my really bad French)

    • Thank you so much for those encouraging words. I think being able to laugh makes life worth living, so I’m glad I help sometimes. Now tell me how someone with your handle can have a problem with French?! 🙂

  2. Purple Law Lady said

    Love this post!

Leave a Reply

 
