the MIRREN LEE

The 2012 Act Three Journey of an Actress/Coach/Writer.

Day 193 I’m Waiting Like Chuck

Posted by themirrenlee on 11/07/2012

I was so Lady GaGa last nite I put the title all in caps. So now my consistency is spoiled. I hate that. I need symmetry. I straighten pictures.

Stilnox, according to the headlines, makes people sleepwalk. And sleepDRIVE. Seriously.

It makes me sleep very, very deeply.

For an hour.

Another hour.

Forty five minutes.

A half hour.

Ad nauseum. Literally, I feel nauseated.

I sleep so deeply that I don’t move, so I wake up with stiff, sore muscles. Constantly.

All these types of drugs used to put me in mini comas. What in god’s name has happened to my brain circuits? It appears Menopause has fried them. It’s bizarre.

I’m giving it until Sunday nite. Barbie’s boyfriend reckons we might be able to rejig my brain. I don’t think so.

I think insomnia is a much tougher nut to crack than “they” admit. Chuck Norris tough. As the saying goes, “Chuck Norris doesn’t sleep. He waits.”

That’s what I do. I wait.

Wait to sleep – wait to stop hurting, wait to read again for awhile, wait until it’s time for another snack, wait until my bladder yells at me, wait until I check my email, or play Words with Friends.

However, unlike Chuck, I eventually ACHE to stay asleep for, oh I don’t know, maybe a year or two …

But I have things I want to accomplish this year, so the Stilnox trial gets my focus this week. Then next week the hypnosis.

One of my favorite writers is Robert Crais, with a fantastic character named Joe Pike. His motto is, “It’s not over until I say it’s over.”

Naturally, he always wins. So I’m using that motto as well – for strength.

The good news is I just got Lee Child’s latest Jack Reacher novel off eBay for $6, and it’s comforting me. One of THE greatest characters of all time, even better than Joe. They’ve made a movie of one of the books, and it’s starring Tom Cruise. Jack is 6’5″. Tom is 5’5″. So they’re aiming the camera looking UP at Tom to make him appear taller. Really – check the trailer.

The name of the book they’re filming is “One Shot”, but the film is called “Jack Reacher”.

When I heard about this casting, I threw up in my mouth a little. I am very angry at Lee Child for allowing it. I hope the film tanks. I’m not a bitch. This is a desecration. It’s like casting a Hobbit as The Hulk.

I feel kind of weird. More than usual, I mean. I know I’ve reached a weird place when I don’t know whether to try and sleep, accomplish something productive, or just stick a fork in my eye and say, “I’m done”.

I really think Jack Reacher next to me, and something with sugar in it, is my best antidote at the moment.

C’mon, Stilnox, knock me out. Take me for a drive. Anything, as long as I’m blissfully unconscious.

I’m just beggin’ …

Leave a Reply

 
