the MIRREN LEE

The 2012 Act Three Journey of an Actress/Coach/Writer.

Day 204 My Brain Needs a ReBoot

Posted by themirrenlee on 22/07/2012

Well, were are we? I started this on January 1st, to see if I could be disciplined enough to show up every day and write a post. So far, so good, even in the face of my chronic condition, Fibromyalgia (for you latecomers to the show). Oh, and the incredibly irritating, inconsistent WIFI at my friend’s place, where I’m staying now.

They come back on August 13th, after which I will drive to Sydney to stay with my son, wife (his, not mine), and grandson until I go to Hollywood a couple of days before Halloween. Next to being able to live with them, people I love dearly, I will also get excellent WIFI because my son, the uber geek, lives on his computer, producing 3 podcasts a week, dealing with films and comic book culture: geek actually  (He works for Apple, but somehow I’m not supposed to tell people that, or he’ll have to kill me. So this may be my last post.)

It’s all a mystery to me …

David also takes over my laptop, strips and updates it, and mutters under his breath all the time about how I don’t deserve to own a computer. Last time I was there, he asked me when was the last time I emptied my cookies cache (that’s what I heard).  I said I make sure it’s always full, and I call it a cookie jar. I seemed to make it worse when he asked the last time I backed it up, and I had to admit I’ve just never been able to cope with that concept. Finally, he kind of squeaked, “How behind are you with your updates?” to which I answered, “I thought I’d leave them for you because you do them so well. But I have kept up my Farmville commitments.” He kicked me out of his office.

It’s not completely my fault. Everyone, even David, has to admit that I have a strange affect on electronic equipment of any kind. It’s like those people who have watches that stop on their wrists (even with new batteries), or make microwave clocks go backwards (okay, I made that one up). I’m the only person that can make uber geeks utter the following words which are  usually unknown to them, “I don’t know why it’s doing that.”

So it’s going to be interesting next week when I go into Apple (I wonder if I have to kill people if I’m telling them I’m going there – Apple is very strange). David says I must make an appointment for my phone, because it does things he can’t explain without seeing it, and also for my laptop. I bought one with the hard plastic case several years ago in L.A., and then when the bits started cracking off, I assumed, of course, that it was me. Especially when Apple said it wasn’t them. Ultimately, as we all know now, Apple took responsibility, started replacing the ones under warranty, and stopped making those cases. I thought I was up poo poo creek because it had been too long, but evidently there’s a possibility they might still replace some of the defective cases, so I’m going to take a crack at it (pun alert!).

David and Katie also bought me a One on One training gift card, good for one year from when I start it. I got it for Christmas, and haven’t started it yet, but it’s on my list for this year in order to change my completely retarded ignorance of whatever equipment I use. I have such an ADD (or is it now ADHD, ADDHHHDDD, AHHH, who knows?) approach to life that I only want to know, QUICKLY, what I need to know just for this minute. So about 95% of my computer is a mystery to me. Ditto for my phone. People keep wanting me to upgrade to the newer and supposedly better, and have great trouble believing that I’m still having trouble understanding the older and the worser.

For goodness sakes, I thought I’d done well when I could program my TV remote, microwave my cold coffee, and program a Foxtel channel to record Judge Judy. But no, it just keeps coming – no wonder people are stressed. The Information Super Highway is running right over us. It’s the IT Autobahn.

Arrrrrghhhh …

And don’t even get me started on Social Media. I don’t want it, I don’t get it, and I wish it would go away. It just makes my head hurt to think of all the places I “should” be on so that I can meet lots of people I don’t care about. I have enough trouble making time to connect with the people I DO care about. And the idea of keeping the world up to date with my invaluable insights and fascinating activities via Twitter goes beyond bizarre in my world view. Do people just have so much free time, or is there something I’m missing?

I’m not a complete Luddite – I love the Internet more than Robert Downey, Jr. (and I REALLY love him); I love computers, too, for all the hassle they cause me. I just think it’s all getting a bit out of hand.

So this year, I plan to be “ept” (as opposed to inept) IT wise. I plan to commit to some aspects, but not to marry the whole package. I’d like time to do other things, see other people.

I’m over halfway through the year, and I actually have a lot of catching up to do from my “Get These Things Done This Year, You Slack Bitch” list. If I could only get a grip on my health, like at least some sleep …

I’m just tryin’ to keep up …

5 Responses to “Day 204 My Brain Needs a ReBoot”

  1. baptistestscroix said

    Now that’s what I’m talking about – you write good, damn it!

    • Lol, why thank you, kind sir, you put the pressure on me to write gooder every day. 🙂 BTW, why do you have no profile? Are you even a Sir? Or just a shadow in cyber space?

      • baptistestscroix said

        I’m the voice with no mouth. I’m the words without the letters. I’m the heart without the body. I am your muse. Keep writing.

  2. BIG LOL!!! And, like, no pressure or anything.

    • baptistestscroix said

      Not at all.

      Do whatever you want………
      …..
      …..
      …..

      ….. as long as you keep writing. :p

Leave a Reply

 
