the MIRREN LEE

The 2012 Act Three Journey of an Actress/Coach/Writer.

Day 236 Ducks, Buffalos and Dentists

Posted by themirrenlee on 23/08/2012

Okay, well, it’s just all too complicated to explain until I can get my ducks in a row – remember them?

I’m never quite sure why we’re supposed to get ducks in a row, as opposed to, say, buffalos, but who am I to argue with well established advice?

I live in Australia, which has socialized medicine. It’s kind of like Canada with kangaroos.

I know Americans imagine that socialized medicine means that we all wear Mao jackets and salute a Supreme Leader or something (hey, I’m half American, I know the thinking over there on anything “socialized”), but in actual fact, it’s much simpler than that: our taxes help pay for our medical care. Makes sense to me, especially since I have a chronic condition like Fibromyalgia that needs a lot of medical help.

I have NEVER been able to understand why Americans don’t want part of their taxes to go towards their health. It’s not like the U.S. government doesn’t tax its citizens for lots of other things, just not things that, like, keep them alive.

Anyway, I just found out I need a million dollars worth of dental work done. Now, dental work is also subsidized, but not as much, and it’s VERY complicated to claim money back. That’s the problem with any system that involves bureaucracy – the paperwork hurts your head. (At least curing it is subsidized.)

I’ve been researching it for days to find out exactly how much I’ll be out of pocket, basically so I can figure out if I can afford now to go to Hollywood in October. I may have to postpone. Or hey, I just thought, I wonder if I put my dental work as a “project” on kickstarter.com I’d get funded?

Time out to look at my new haircut, as promised:

Yes, I know it’s out of focus (in Hollywood we call it “soft focus” to look younger), but I have one of those phones where I have to shoot backwards – you know what I mean. This was the best of a LOT of tries – my finger got tired.

Normally, I wear it messier, but it had been a long day being told I had to have a million dollar’s worth of dental work. My hair was in as much shock as I was.

Back to our regular programming:

Yes, the Internet is better, but we’re waiting on a new modem to make it totally strong enough. Unfortunately, now the house phone doesn’t work. I keep warning people about Telstra, but no one listens. I expect not to have a phone for quite awhile, but we’ll see.

In other news:

I’ve been taking Circadin, which is slow release Melatonin, for 3 days now. Last time I tried it wasn’t a huge success, but now instead of not being able to sleep – you’ve all heard THAT enough times – I can’t seem to stay awake. I just spent 36 hours in bed! Thank god for my massage today because I was like the Tin Man, but the brilliant woman I had got me moving again – even walking without pain!

What a messy little post, but that’s what happens when complicated things happen in life, and then I say for days I’m going to talk about something but forget what that something was, and so it gets all rambly …

The main thing is, I have to make a whole bunch of decisions about the dental work – which is supposed to be done under a general anaesthetic on October 4th – and the trip on October 27th, and going to Sydney in the meantime to be with my grandson, blah blah blah. I’m sure your problems are much more interesting.

So back to ducks: tomorrow I’ll have a conversation with government people who will undoubtedly confuse me like crazy, but hopefully after I ask enough questions (at which time they will be annoyed with me, but I will persevere), I will know exactly how much I’ll have to pay if I get the dental work done, which will then help me make the decision about the trip.

My life kind of feels like I’ve run a marathon, and I’m tired but I know I’ll get some food and water and then a good lie down, until an official comes up and tells me that they’ve changed the rules and I actually have to run ANOTHER marathon before I can rest, which I do, and then I get told AGAIN I’m not finished, etc. I mean, talk about buffalos stampeding across my life …

There’s just something inherently funny about buffalos. Especially when I got this photo while looking for an image for travel!

This entire post feels like a giant Senior Moment, but that’s because I’m sleepy. I wonder if it will last? Wouldn’t that be a giant step forward for me this year?!

A lot to ponder, and make decisions about. Hopefully, by tomorrow nite I might have all my ducks, I mean facts, ready so I’ll know which path I’m taking. And here I thought all my plans were set.

As Woody Allen said, “If you want to make God laugh, tell him your plans.”

I DO believe everything happens for a reason, and I really believe the book title, “You Can Have Anything You Want, You Just Can’t Have it All at Once.”.

So that means I should just settle down and listen to my instinct, and watch for those signs, while I’m fact collecting.

I’m just ramblin’ …

Leave a Reply

 
