the MIRREN LEE

The 2012 Act Three Journey of an Actress/Coach/Writer.

Day 271 Wondering Woman

Posted by themirrenlee on 29/09/2012

When will the day come when I don’t suffer a bad day after a good one? In other words, when will they find a cure for Fibro?!

Luckily, I’m still sleeping (yay!) and my mental/emotional state is currently good enough to help me just accept the flare today. I took a day off, basically, and enjoyed reading non stop.

No word yet on KT’s father’s condition, and whether she needs to go back to Melbourne or not.

One of my dialect coaching students emailed me with an invitation to see her in a play called “Glorious”, which opens in a couple of weeks. When she rang me for coaching, the dialects were going to be American along the lines of those heard in old movies like “Philadelphia Story” – think Katherine Hepburn.

Now, she says, they’ve changed them to “Standard American”, because everyone was sounding too English.

This always infuriates me – the belief that there is a “standard” or “general” American dialect. Does anyone see a state with those names?!

The most common dialect is West Coast. It has the most clarity and most consistent pattern of all the American dialects.

So I’m wondering why I don’t stop arguing with everyone about it, and just finish my goddamned voice book?!

I’m just procrastinatin’ …

Leave a Reply

 
