the MIRREN LEE

The 2012 Act Three Journey of an Actress/Coach/Writer.

Archive for October 11th, 2012

Day 282 Cat Tales

Posted by themirrenlee on 11/10/2012

This year has kind of gone to hell in a hand basket, as far as my plans go, but it’s as hard for an optimist to believe it will get worse as it is for a pessimist to believe it will get better. I try to be miserable, I really do, but I just have this unwavering belief – and no idea where it came from or ability to banish it – that everything happens for a reason, so I might as well relax about it.

I’m now having, on top of being in back recovery mode, a bit of a Fibro Flare, which is just everything feeling worse. One always looks for a reason, and often there isn’t, it’s just the way the condition is, but in this case I think it’s the rain, which is a bittersweet thing. I love listening to the rain, especially when in bed, but it always seems to make my pain flare. The same with humidity, so it’s probably something to do with “moist”. (David told me tonite they were saying at work how much they like the word “moist”. It is a good word, isn’t it? As to why they were discussing it, I don’t think we’ll go there.)

I haven’t felt emotionally prepared yet to deal with changing my ticket, but tomorrow I will just have to get a grip and do it. Talk about procrastinating … but I know it’s because there will be more money to pay, along with the reality hitting me that I really do have to postpone the trip. Which is stupid because in my soul I know it will work out in the long run.

Molly iz on back. She’s even a weird sleeper!

On the home front, Nicky has stayed home because I haven’t been well enough to drive him, and the cat is steadily going insane. She thinks lizards are toys, and as the yard is full of them she brings several a day into the house, freaking everyone out as we try to rescue the poor things. Some are tiny, while some are as large as mice. There are lizard tails all over the house because that’s the first thing they do: drop their tails in a fruitless attempt at escape. Then we find her batting them around when they try to get away. The ones we miss end up dropping dead from being punctured, run to death or munched on. It’s “Hunger Games for Lizards”.

Some cats are hunters, and others not so much. This one (Molly) is the Predator on steroids. Besides the lizards, she’s “gifted” us with mice, birds, cockroaches, and recently she made an attempt to capture a small dog from across the street. She’s really weird when she’s not happy about something because she growls! I’ve been a dedicated cat lover my whole life, and I’ve never heard a cat make that sound. Freaky. We’ve learned to back away when we hear it!

So tomorrow is a “Plan Re-adjustment Day”. This Flare better be under control – I need to feel like I’m functioning again. Otherwise, I’m going to be the one doing the growling.

I’m just sayin’ …

Posted in Fibromyalgia/Chronic Conditions, I'm Just Sayin' | Tagged: | Leave a Comment »

 
