the MIRREN LEE

The 2012 Act Three Journey of an Actress/Coach/Writer.

Day 284 When Good Plans Go Rogue

Posted by themirrenlee on 13/10/2012

We’re struggling as a family, but at least we’re doing it together.

Katie’s still in Melbourne, her father is now in palliative care and has been given literally only days to live.

It’s so hard on Katie, not only because she has to watch her Dad drifting in and out, waiting for it it to happen, but also because she’d really like to be back home.

It’s hard on us in here Sydney, because my pain flares make me unreliable as a daily chauffeur for Nicky. And it’s hard on David with his intense shift work at Apple to try and cover many of Nicky’s school trips.

The travel agent wasn’t available to speak with me regarding my ticket change, so Monday will now be Re-Adjustment Day.

That gives me tomorrow to sit down and get a grip on my new plans and commitments. I’ve always believed things will happen as I want them to if I’m CLEAR and PRECISE about what they are.

Anthony Robbins wrote about a guy who said he wanted “money”, so Robbins gave him 50c and said, “Next time, be more specific.” I love that.

When I career coach actors, the most commonly difficult question for them to answer is, “What is your definition of Success?”

I’ll give you the most common answer tomorrow, as well as what I think is the smartest. Anyone reading this might answer it for themselves to compare.

I know that since everything has become “challenging”, it’s time to rethink and replan. I’ve been muddy in my ideas, and it’s unrealistic to expect help when I’m basically incoherent.

Nicky even has a podcast idea he’d like to do with me. Another plan to ponder.

No more writing now.

I’m just goin’ to think …

2 Responses to “Day 284 When Good Plans Go Rogue”

  1. Purple Law Lady said

    My definition of success is…Achieving Happiness (with yourself, your job, your relationships, etc.)

    Now, does Katie need some proxy-Mirren support? Did you say he was at Monash (which is near me)? Can I help in any way? or would you like me to deliver her (and her dad) a care package?

    • As I said in my email to you, I think it is extraordinary that someone who is not well on several fronts would offer to help others. It’s funny, isn’t it, how often the healthy people have “no time” to help? You are amazing in what you do on a daily basis.

Leave a Reply

 
