the MIRREN LEE

The 2012 Act Three Journey of an Actress/Coach/Writer.

Day 298 Qantas Has Landed!

Posted by themirrenlee on 27/10/2012

Observation: It takes longer to get back and forth from airports than it does to actually fly 500 miles to another city. And can be more expensive than the cost of the flight itself!

I started out from Sydney at 2:30 pm, and have just arrived at Roman and Caryl’s house in Melbourne at 7:30 pm. It was a 1 hour flight!

The plane ticket cost $120 one way (there are usually cheaper deals, but it’s a bike grand prix thingy weekend in Melbourne), while the Sky Bus to the main train station cost $17, followed by a $25 cab ride because I was too tired to hump luggage on a tram or train, then walk for 15 minutes.

Sydney has a $20 train ride all the way from the airport to anywhere ($12 concession), but Melbourne is still “talking about it”. Things move slower here. Luckily, I got a lift to the airport in Sydney from David and family.

I’m now back at the house of the friends I stayed with before. Since I left my flat in April I’ve been relying on the kindness of friends and family to put me up until my flight to L.A., which was supposed to be … well … today. As I’ve already written before, I’ve rebooked for the end of January, which means being “homeless” a little while longer.

Roman & Caryl have gone to Sydney (!) for the weekend, so I came now to look after their Burmese. (No, they haven’t adopted a little person from Myanmar; he’s a cat.) His name is Ming, but I call him Mr. Ming and tell him he runs a lovely bed and breakfast, which is why I stay here often. We’ve bonded.

SIDE NOTE: Call me crazy, but I really don’t think even Angelina would be allowed to adopt a little Burmese person if she wanted to. If she put him in a car it would be trafficking of human beings. (Sorry … Lol)

As I’ve said before, I totally believe that everything happens for a reason (even if we can’t understand the reason as it happens). Which is why I’m not shattered by my trip getting moved. It’s more important that I get my health stronger, and help David/KT/Nicky while they organize Katie’s father’s possessions (basically, the house), and his debts. A lot to do, especially when it’s in another state.

So my plan is to sort out my stuff that’s scattered far and wide, again at the mercy of kind and patient people whom I appreciate so very much.

Sarah is leaving her share house, and I stored a lot of things there; plus I never fully moved some bibs and bobs of furniture, etc., from my friend Tracey’s place down in Phillip Island (where I plan to return next year); now I’ve established a beach head at KT/D/N’s house, mostly stuff I’m keeping; while at Mr. Ming’s I have a ton of eBay chi cha to sell. AND I must finish the Lloyd Loom blanket box I’m refurbishing for Caryl – my deadline is way overdue.

Add to all that, I must get BOTH my passports renewed before I go, as well as organize a sublet off craigslist.org to have a place to occupy when I land in Hollyweird, and, finally, find the best car rental deal.

I couldn’t sleep last nite – I rarely can when I know I HAVE to get up in the morning, because I’m so stressed about it. Being “Sleep Challenged” means I don’t “do mornings” as a general rule, and when I’m forced to, it ain’t pretty.

I have commenters to thank, and other things to write, but I’m feeling like I may fall unconscious any moment. (Yes, I’ve dragged out the BIG drugs, like Stilnox.)

The bliss of Melbourne is that it is several degrees – celsius – cooler than Sydney, without the humidity. Great sleeping weather!

Tomorrow I will hopefully be less foggy and tired. I’m so glad I’m here!

I’m just doona divin’ …

Leave a Reply

 
