the MIRREN LEE

The 2012 Act Three Journey of an Actress/Coach/Writer.

Day 307 Hiding Out

Posted by themirrenlee on 05/11/2012

Today was what I call a “Hiding Day”, when I just wanted to be alone and hide from conversations, decisions or plans.

Luckily, both people in the house are working until late (one’s a doctor and one’s a nurse) so it was easy to do.

I had a yucky nite’s sleep, which led to feeling yucky all day. But I didn’t despair. I still feel that things are turning around health wise, and I just have to be patient with the hiccups.

I had fun on craigslist seeing if I could have found a sublet if I’d gone last week. Good news is yes, there were several. Now let’s hope for the same in February.

I was also looking for places in London cuz I’d love to go back for awhile. It’s horribly expensive, but I believe the exception will always be there when you need it.

Australia has never really embraced craigslist, sadly. It’s a wonderful resource – a noticeboard for the world!

I tried making appointments today, particularly for the – shudder – dentist, but tomorrow is a holiday in Melbourne, which means many places shut today. Australians love their “long weekends”.

Tomorrow is Melbourne Cup Day – our most famous horse race (and only Melbourne gets the holiday, while everywhere else they just place bets). After it’s over, then we’ll start to hear about last minute details before the U.S. election. Until then, horses rule.

Tomorrow I expect to feel better, and will get back to organizing. My dozens of items are not going to put themselves on eBay!

I’m just finishing hidin’ …

2 Responses to “Day 307 Hiding Out”

  1. baptistestscroix said

    London is a great place. Do you have any British ancestors? You can get an ancestor visa that lets you work there for up to 5 years if you do. I’d love to go back there.

    • Yes, my late Australian mother’s parents were from Scotland, so I’m eligible with my Australian passport (dual citizenship with America). They had an age limit for awhile (56 or something), but they removed that. My understanding is that it allows permanent residency. One of my sisters is going for it so we’ll see. The only thing that puts me off is the endless bureaucracy and paperwork, but I really miss England, so I may go for it.

Leave a Reply

 
