the MIRREN LEE

The 2012 Act Three Journey of an Actress/Coach/Writer.

Day 325 Stop and Thank

Posted by themirrenlee on 23/11/2012

We are celebrating Thanksgiving at the house of my daughter, Sarah, and her boyfriend, Nathan tomorrow (Saturday), because at 25 she wanted to host her first one.

We are celebrating with friends – some hers, some his, plus me, Roman and Caryl. They are among our oldest friends, and have the title “godparents” to Sarah because of that friendship (which started in high school with Roman and Sarah’s father). They are also, at the moment, being kind enough to let me live with them.

I am a total believer in being grateful for what is done for us, or given to us, out of caring, affection or love. I had a VERY difficult upbringing, and whenever anyone was good to me, helping me in some way, I always swore I would “pass it forward” when I could (long before the movie ever came out!).

There are no other family members tomorrow because David, Katie and Nicky are in Sydney, my parents are dead, and I have no relationship with my 6 siblings. My choice, after enough
therapy!

I have just finished the pumpkin pie and tarts (I like them even better that way), plus the cornbread and yams. I am a vegetarian, so Caryl has made two wonderful meatless dishes, plus there’s always too many side dishes for my tiny tummy. I like to save room for the sweet stuff!

As the matriarch now, I make everyone go around the table and say one thing they’re grateful for. If we don’t do that, then I feel it’s just a big, obscene pigout. It makes the Australians, especially, who are not used to it, uncomfortable at first, but eventually everyone gets into it.
I don’t think people spend enough time stopping for a moment to think about what they DO have, instead of dwelling on what they DON’T.

I know that the phrase, “Attitude of Gratitude”, has been done a lot, but how many actually live it?

I am so grateful that even though I woke up today having hit my wall of pain and fatigue – including pain from the three fillings yesterday – it all slowly ebbed and I was able to cook. Something I haven’t done in about 15 years!

I have so much to be grateful for – from feeling better to maybe being able to make my trip in January to having only non toxic people in my life now.

I might make everyone be quiet tomorrow and I’ll share just all MY blessings!

When you take inventory of what’s causing you stress in your life right now, I hope you’ll also fit in some gratitude thoughts as well. They actually help to take some of the stress away.

Australia doesn’t have a Thanksgiving, so I always love a chance to introduce it to newbies. It’s such a wonderful, simple idea: express thanks for what we have.

Last year I wasn’t well enough to participate, so of course that’s my first, major thanks for this year – I can join in.

Once you start thinking about all the things you have to be grateful for, you’ll find your list starts to snowball and before you know it, the bad things don’t seem so bad after all. Your whole mood and psyche will feel better and happier, which makes your body healthier, and that’s always a good thing, isn’t it?

When you think of it that way, Thanksgiving helps you live longer!

There are so many reasons that it’s one of my favorite occasions (and pumpkin tarts are high on the list).

I’m just bein’ thankful …

Leave a Reply

 
