the MIRREN LEE

The 2012 Act Three Journey of an Actress/Coach/Writer.

Day 326 Thanksgiving Twist

Posted by themirrenlee on 24/11/2012

And this is why I hate Fibromyalgia.

Mirren, say hello to Wall.

I made its acquaintance as I tried to get out of bed. I realized I must have hit it because I felt sore, exhausted and nauseous.

If you’ve ever over exercised or exerted yourself to the brink, you are familiar with the feeling. Like you will never feel well again.

I’ve been having a good run, but my body was saying it needed to stop completely for many hours.

And yet, there was Thanksgiving at Sarah’s! We had made so much food!

While I’m wondering what to do, Roman gets a phone call. He FORGOT he was on call for the weekend – mainly because he rarely gets called in (he’s an Anaesthetist). One more down.

To complete the trifecta, Caryl says she can feel one of her migraines coming on! She doesn’t feel she can go, either.

After agonizing about whether or not I should try to push through, I realized that my nausea was not a good combo with all the food, but I was determined to do what I could to help Sarah with the first Thanksgiving that’s “hers”.

I threw on some clothes, loaded the car, and drove the 40 minutes to her boyfriend’s house. He WOULD have to live in the boondocks – pretty boondocks, but a long drive nonetheless.

It’s a good thing the police don’t breathalyze for Fibro, because one is not 100% at their best when driving behind a Wall, but I did it carefully.

I got there to find my baby knee deep in making food while entertaining early guests. She was making our secret family recipe for “Mashed Potato Salad” which I’ve handed down to her, plus testing the ham (a friend was bringing the turkey and roast potatoes) in the oven. She had, appropriately, an obscene amount of food, including my contributions for the vegetarians.

She knew just by looking at me why I couldn’t stay. She’s lived with me having this condition her whole life.

I reminded her to make sure she led the two toasts – one to absent family and friends we wish could be with us today, and the really important one: at least one thing everyone is thankful for. She felt nervous asking people to do this, but I reminded her that she’s the hostess at this Thanksgiving and she needs to make sure people understand it’s not just a normal feast – it’s one for giving thanks. This is kind of sacred to me – it’s the reason I love this holiday.

Then I left, with one last hug for my beautiful girl, surrounded by all of her Australian friends eagerly pitching in to share in an occasion they’ve never experienced before, my eye caught by the beautifully laid out table Sarah had so lovingly created, including a tablecloth with a turkey motif she found somewhere.

I drove carefully home to my bed, as I thought about all the blessings I have to be thankful for. I don’t need food to do that.

(Tell you what, though. Sarah had bloody well remember to pass on some leftovers, or there’ll be hell to pay!)

I’m just thankful’ …

Leave a Reply

 
