the MIRREN LEE

The 2012 Act Three Journey of an Actress/Coach/Writer.

Day 332 VICTORY!

Posted by themirrenlee on 30/11/2012

Wow, what a feeling.

Three weeks of holding onto tension, no matter how much I tried to let go, and now it’s all over. I certainly felt the fear, but I certainly did it anyway!

The funny thing is, today was probably the easiest of all the sessions, as is so often the case when we build something up really big in our minds. The hygienist was patience and kindness personified, and then my three fillings were over in a hop, skip and a jump.

I even got Christmas shortbread for being brave! 🙂

I don’t have to go back for six months, and the good news is I won’t be stressed now. I know what to expect, and I know they respect my wacky pain receptors.

I feel an incredible exhilaration having pushed through my fears and accomplished this – the last day of my chance to have it done under the Dental Scheme. I feel like I can do anything now!

If anyone reading this has fears they need to push through, I highly recommend what I think is the best book on this subject: Susan Jeffer’s “Feel the Fear and Do It Anyway”. She has great tips and exercises to shrink your fear boundaries.

When we’re facing the unknown is, obviously, the time we are most frightened. Since there will always be a lot of things in life that we can’t know about, or control, in advance, then it makes sense to have techniques that will help us to get through them anyway.

It’s also good to be able to comfort our children when they need it. Sarah had a habit of always thinking the worst would happen in any situation. I developed a habit of asking her why she was playing the “Bad What If …” game, when the “Good What If …” game was so much nicer. So when she would ask, “What if school is boring today?”, I’d answer, “But what if it’s lots of fun AND you meet a new best friend today?”

We continue to play the “Good What If …” game now, years later, to continue to remind each other to stay optimistic (and attract positive energy).

So, next step. I need to leave here in Melbourne and get to Sydney within a week or so of Christmas. I’ll have to work out a detailed plan to get all my organizing done before I leave. Once I’m in Sydney, I’ll stay there until I leave for L.A. on January 27th.

And for the immediate future, no doctors and no dentists – hallelujah!

I’m just smilin’ …

2 Responses to “Day 332 VICTORY!”

  1. iesadora said

    YAY, your all done, fixed and clean, proud of yourself, and functioning! Great job!!!!!! I’m proud of you! =D

Leave a Reply

 
