the MIRREN LEE

The 2012 Act Three Journey of an Actress/Coach/Writer.

Day 358 Boxing Day Musing

Posted by themirrenlee on 26/12/2012

Today is Boxing Day in Australia. It is derived from the English tradition (and Australia is part of the English Commonwealth) of opening boxes of presents the day after Christmas. It is mostly a holiday here.

I say mostly because retail comes back with the “Boxing Day Sales”. It’s insane, with people trampling each other so they can buy MORE – as if Christmas shopping wasn’t enough. It’s made worse by the fact that not every mall is open, so the ones that are become sardine cans.

David works for Apple and was rostered on today. He said at one point he tried to buy a coffee in the mall but had to give up because the line was too long.

I’ve never understood the feeding frenzy of shopping. I find it tiring and boring, not to mention scary. This is because crowds bring out the worst in me, and I worry sometimes about my impulse control when faced with enough marauding sardines.

I’m one of those people who are slowly but steadily doing all my shopping online. Not only is it less stressful, but then I get mail! I love mail, but nobody sends letters anymore so online shopping is a nice substitute.

My job now is to get strong for my trip, and that involves as much rest as I can manage. So I spent the day reading a book. A real book, not a download. It’s Patricia Cornwell’s latest, “The Bone Bed”. She’s not my favorite of writers, but I’ve read all of theirs!

I hope tomorrow stays cool, my Flare settles, and I finally send off my passport renewals, or I’m not going anywhere out of Australia.

I’m just not shoppin’ …

Leave a Reply

 
